The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

A great leader is one who leads his subordinates forward through difficulties and challanges but not merely someone who faces a challenge together with his subordinates. A great leader is not someone who merely learns by facing challenges, but someone who has the inate capability to ameliorate an adverse situation or challenge a difficult challange. A great leader is someone who posesses the grit, determination, prudence and discipline to overcome the obstacles that come their way. My dissent with the argument that a leader's greatness depends on the challenges they face and not with their inherent capabilites is solidified as follows.

There is a saying, "Strong men create good times, good men create weak times, weak men create difficult times". Being a Sri Lankan, I have experienced a lot of shifts in politics with every succession of presidents. A three decade long civil war was ended by one political leader within four years while his successor's incoussiance led to the bloody murdor of hundreds of innocent lives ten years after the establishment of peace and unification of the country. The civil war continued for thirty long years because no one was willing to take any action that would take away their potential voters in the next election. however, one "great" president took the initiative and ended the bloody war . having to face with the same difficulty; which is civil war, how can one president put an end to this blood bath while others merely passed the ball to the next in line. Only by pure strength of character, perseverence and shrewdness does a leader attain greatness. these are all qualities that are inherent to a person, either born with or else acquired.

Ruling a country is no simple task. every ruler, be it the president, the king or the primeminister, has to face challenges during his term as the political leader. these challenges add to their political experience. however, people remember leaders who do 'great things'; that is, the leaders who overcame great challenges during their terms. however, this statement in itself is ironical. while one leader merely circumscribed the challenge, another could have treated the root cause of the problem and successfully overcome the challenge so that the future generations too may benefit from their actions. such leadership requires a specific set of skills including but not limited to prudence, perseverence, strength of personality and honesty. while these skills may be further polished by their experiences, the inate presence of such abilities define whether a leader is great or not.

Therefore, great leaders are those who are born to overcame challenges; they are the leaders who stay right throughout the storm, intransigent and sturdy, with unswaying determination, strenght of character and incisiveness, but not those who are merely shaped by the challenges they faced.