Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

What defines a great society is not how great the history of that society was, but rather the very nature of the society they currently live in. Too many times have societies collapsed due to preservation of age old traditions, obsolete ways of thinking and behaving. Almost always, People rather choose to fight the enemy they know, and this makes them blind to new opportunities and fresh ideas. Staying in one's comfort zone will never help an individual move forward; when several such people clump together as a society, the society comes to a stalemate with itself.

Sri Lanka is a country with a 'proud' history of 2500 years. There are massive feats of engineering that are attributed to the great kings and queens of Sri Lanka that lived in the days of old. On the other hand in the 1960s, Singapore, a country with not as much a proud history as Sri Lanka, pledges to develop their country to a similar state as Sri Lanka within the next few decades. By the year 2019, Singapore is one of the most developed countries and economies in the world, while Sri lanka is still a third world country with nothing but a 'proud' history to speak of. Delving into the root cause, one would find the attitudes of the Sri Lankan society to not be conducive to progress. They cling to age old traditions and thought patterns that they hold high, which effectively cripples their ability to move forward. Traditions can sometimes be important cultural aspects of a society, While they must be held in high esteem, the citizens should know how and when to let these 'societal restrictions' loose.

Sri Lanka has a conservative society where horoscopes still define the outcome of your life. You will lead an unhappy life if the planet Saturn was right above your head the day you were born. Once the horoscope is set, the life of the person is literally written on this piece of Ola leaf and will continue restraining him from ever looking above and beyond. In this conservative society, a girl is not allowed to live together with a boy prior to marriage. You cannot marry the girl you love if the horoscopes do not tally. This situation has plunged the the citizens back to the medievel times. Because girls and boys are not allowed to express and experiment on their love, crimes such as rape and abuse increase by the day. Such obsolete ways of thinking merely takes away all the creativity, freedom, and along with it, any hope for a better future.

Humans are by design a curious species. We like to explore and try new things out. There have been times in history where exploring and being curious has led to people being ostracized. There are times when the society as a whole has guffawed at new ideas. However, in the end, once these new ideas start changing the society for the good, all the conservative detractors who initially denigrated these ideas will also reap equal benefit from societal progress. Therefore, even though it may seem superficially that we must cling onto our age old traditions, progress is in itself much more important.

In conclusion, a progressive society will continue flourishing while the conservative ones will languish. After all, if not for the societal progress, we would still be in the dark ages with nothing but simple aims, doing nothing but merely surviving for the sake of survival.