More big shopping malls are being built and they replace small shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently a great number of big shopping centres are being constructed and they replace small shops. While this trend can be negative to some extent, I would argue that it is more positive.

On the one hand, big shopping malls have some drawbacks. Firstly, due to high operating cost such as salary of large number of employees or repairs and maintenance fees, products sold in big malls are more expensive than other places. Therefore, people have to pay much money for an item. If people buy goods in small shops, they might save their money. Secondly, because shopping malls are large and have a significant number of people, they have to spend much time on shopping. For example, buyers usually wait for checkout in long line at the weekend. If people go to small shops, they could buy items quickly.

On the other hand, I believe there are some benefits of this development. First, since big shopping centres have a significant number of goods of many manufacturers, people have a wider range of choices. As a result, they could compare different brands and products. For instance, buyers could easily compare the shoes of Converse and Vans while it is difficult to do that at small shops. Additionally, because large malls have various entertainment facilities such as cinema halls or children’s play zones, people not only can go shopping but also have fun. For example, couples might watch movies at the cinema and buy foods afterwards at shopping centres. This could positively affect their experiences.

In conclusion, while this tendency can have several disadvantages, I believe that its advantages are greater.