It is important for all cities and towns to have large outdoor public spaces, such as parks or squares. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people claim that big public places should be built in all towns and cities. While it is true that these places can be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that they should not be available in all cities and towns.

To begin with, there are several advantages of public spaces. Firstly, since towns and cities have great number of modern buildings such as skyscrapers or multi functional buildings, public spaces could reduce the monotonous atmosphere of urban areas. For example, in New York, there is Central Park which is constructed in the centre of the city and surrounded by other tall buildings. This could positively affect the uniqueness of cityscape. Secondly, because people usually work or study in narrow spaces such as offices or classrooms every day, public areas could provide them with open spaces to relax or take part in public events. For instance, citizens of Ho Chi Minh city usually celebrate the beginning of new year in Nguyen Hue Walking Street.

However, I do not think all towns and cities should have public areas. First, since there are many cities such as Hanoi or Da Nang facing overpopulation issue ,authorities should prioritize constructing more accommodations for people. For example, in Ho Chi Minh city, there are a great number of apartment buildings constructed to serve the high demand of young individuals. Additionally, because annual budget of each city is different, towns and cities that have tight budget should focus on important sectors. For instance, the government could spend money on building hospitals or schools before planning to erect parks or squares. This could improve people’s quality of life and avoid financial burden.

In conclusion, while it is true that large public spaces could have some advantages to towns and cities, I believe not all cities and towns should have these kinds of places.