Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people say that art subjects should be obligatory in high school curriculum. While it is true that these subjects can be beneficial for students to some extent, I would argue that it should not be compulsory.

To begin with, there are several advantages of drawing and painting. Firstly, since students have to imagine and transfer details of objects which they are drawing to their paintings, their imagination and creativity could be improved. For example, when drawing a picture of animals or scenery, students let their imagination run wild and express their work of art in a unique way. This could positively contribute to their well-balanced development. Secondly, because students have opportunities to approach art subjects early in schools, they could discover their potential talents in art. This would allow them to dedicate time and effort to develop their skills, which might make them become famous artists in the future.

However, I do not think high school students should be forced to take part in art classes. First, currently, students have to study many subjects such as Mathematics or Physics which are prerequisite for university entrance exams. Therefore, forcing these students to spend time on drawing or painting might increase pressure on them. This could negatively affect their quality of learning. Additionally, because drawing materials such as drawing papers or colored pens are usually expensive, buying these materials could be difficult for students who have tight budget. Consequently, their families could bear unnecessary financial burden.

In conclusion, while it is true that there are some benefits for students when learning to draw or paint, I believe these subjects should not be compulsory in high school.