All results of publicly funded scientific studies should be made available to the general public free of charge. Scientific journals that charge a subscription or newsstand price are profiting unfairly.

Throughout the world, sharing scientific research results without cost has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although, subscription fee for scientific journals access is prevalent, the issue as to whether they are profiting unfairly or not remains controversial. As far as I’m concerned, the disadvantages of making scientific studies available to the general public free of charge outweigh the advantages.

Firstly, it is important to recognise that the term of publicly funded studies means the research funding comes from taxes of citizens. Many may argue that the taxpayers pay the cost of different studies and have the right to access the results. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that while researchers may provide free access to their results by posting them on the web at any time, publication in a peer-reviewed journal requires extra cost since the results could be reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers before it is accepted for publication.

Secondly, it is equally important to recognise that PhD students or candidates might struggle to find funding for their projects. As a result, they have to find funding resources from public resources. In case of all results of previous scientific studies are made available to the general public free of charge, funding resources could not be replenished and that might lead to money shortage for further studies.

Finally, researchers need deep brainstorming and long progress of laboratory work to solve the problem. Additionally, the outcome of the study might be not profiting since it is just proved in theory but the evidence could not be found at the time of the project. For example, Stephen Hawking spent nearly half of his lifetime and just to provide a theoretical argument for the existence of black holes emit radiation in 1974; scientists still observe and do thousands of experiments to prove the theory. Therefore, the result could not be freely available to the general public.

In conclusion, taking all of the above mentioned facts, it is reasonable to charge subscription fee or price to access scientific journals.