Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The statement claims that Scandals are good for our society as they divert our attention to the matter in such a way that nor speaker or reformer ever could. I do agree with the statement very strongly. Scandals are events with a weak moral standing that are usually blown out of proportion by media which typically becomes a discussion point among the general public.

People get deeply engrossed in discussing the nitty gritties of the scandals with their friends, family, co-workers etc and tend to analyze the circumstances, key stakeholders, causes and effects of the events. This level of inspection and debate around an event brings about key elements like morality, ethics and righteousness about various people involved and helps to classify actions as right or wrong given the circumstances.

One example that illustrates this phenomena very strongly is the #metoo movement. Till about recently sexism in movie industry, corporates and other industries was not known to general public although industries acknowledge that it was rampant. When the #me too scandal broke out, lot of celebrities had to face ignominy and give up their social status. This scandal caught public attention and people witnessed the dire consequences inflicted on famous people. Some of them considered themselves very lucky for not being exposed yet and tried to mend their ways before it was too late. It is hard to imagine if such transformation could have been possible through speeches or reform movement. As a learning, general public also realize and refrain from acting inappropriately.

Opponents of this line of thinking can argue that scandals do not necessarily are the best ways to bring about a change in the society. They could refer to cases where similar scandals erupted repeatedly where the prior scandals had not affect on the public behavior.

However, I do strongly believe if people are able to ask themselves right questions about the scandal and spend time to seek the answers and apply in their daily lives, they can have a lasting impact on their personality just like reading a good book or listening to a great speech.