Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education institutes are considered centers of learning and overall development for students. It is there where they get exposed to peers, friends from different walks of life and also to different streams of learning. The primary objective of the educational institutes is to prepare the next generations to face the real world and cope up with its challenges. They provide training not only in fields of engineering, medicine but also in life skills like philosophy, critical thinking, negotiation etc.. Hence, they play a crucial role in transforming the personality of students, especially the ones at an impressionable age.

Clearly, everyone agrees how important a role they play in our lives. But I tend to disagree that they are responsible to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Firstly, we need to know if they have frameworks and tools to measure the future success or failure rate of a student in a particular fields. The tools need to be validated and agreed by all before they even venture into this idea.

Let’s assume that, for the sake of this essay, they do have such frameworks and they are able to generate scores for students based on some empirical tests. How can they sure that the interests of a student do not change over a period of time? They need to acknowledge that knowledge and skill can be enhanced with persistent practice. With proper guidance, change in curriculum and direction setting, it could be possible to rekindle the students’ interests in those fields.

Educational institutions’ role in the society is to introduce various fields and their contributions to the mankind. It should be left to the choice of the students to pursue fields where their passion lies and take it forward. Some opponents of this positions could argue that over exposing different fields of study could overwhelm the students and could have adverse effects on their overall learning process. Secondly, they could also argue that investing and dedicating a student’s intellect on a single field since an early age could yield better results rather than studying various fields.

However, I doubt if there are any research studies that can explain this phenomenon. I believe that future innovations and disruptions will come from cross functional fields. So it become all the more important educational institutions stick to imparting a well rounded curriculum where all fields are encouraged equally and do not dissuade anyone. Rather the endeavor should be to make studying all fields fun with emphasis on practical benefits to mankind and society.