To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Societies, ancient or modern, are a combination of multiple factors. Some of the major building blocks of societies are its people, places they live in, values they share, norms they stand by and culture they practice. Various historians try to gather information about these artifacts through years of research, study and analyze them to understand about how societies work and identify their key characteristics.

As mentioned in my introduction, I believe that studying about major cities can shed some light on to understanding the characteristics of a society. One example which is worth quoting here is the city of Bangkok. The king of the country is revered across the houses and shops in the city. They still carry out the commerce and other dealings in the local language and the traditions and festivals are celebrated with same vigor every year. The architectures of buildings and temples are inspired by their original folklore

There is however a major reason why it was possible in case of Bangkok. The country was ever attacked or conquered by an external country or kingdom. The original architecture was never plundered and withstood the test of time. There are many major cities in India which were plundered by many conquerors throughout the history, stripped them of their wealth, originality and drove the native away from their homes. This resulted in mass migrations of people from one city to another and lead to formation of a new blended culture that is not a true characteristic of any of the original societies.

These two examples basically explain that the researchers need to study the historical journey of the cities before they shortlist them as candidates to learn about the characteristics of a society.