Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Nowadays, there is a different view of the issue about whether the success of the society should put before the well-being of its individual citizens or not. Depending on personal experiences and beliefs, we may find that some people hold the opinion that the society should be the first place, while others have an opposite attitude that personal welfare is much important. As far as I concerned, I believe the well-being of individual citizens should put before the success of the country. The following discussion will explore my view.

Indeed, countries which have strong power could protect the citizens and make them have a great living environment and state. For example, like American, it has a powerful army and strong government which are also let people have a smooth life. The citizens do not worry about any threat from other countries or any uneven judgment on their court. Hence, of course, the strength of a country is not only present on the welfare, but the success of a society is also very critical.

On the other hand, sometimes if we put the success in the first place, it might cause some adverse effect, once the country gets really successful. For example, North Korean is a very typify example to this point. North Korean has a powerful ability on their product of weapon, and many other countries next by it are all fear to it in some of the level. However, the superior military does not bring any welfare to their people. In fact, the people in North Korean are the poorest citizen in Asia. When the global economy declines, North Korean’s people do not have much food to eat, even some people need to cook the weed to feed their children.

Both successes on the whole society and individual citizens have their own advantages, and none of them is best if we must put one of them to the first place. Actually, we can take a mixed approach to thrive the entirely the country because none of them can be sacrificed when a country wants to develop much well. The powerful on society can protect the citizens to make them have a much safe place to live. The welfare on individual citizens could support the society to promote. Thus, we cannot lose any.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are some benefits if the society puts in front of individual citizens, that are still many factors we should consider discreetly. Therefore, we cannot presumptuously believe the statement.