The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that Clearview is a top choice for a place to retire. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after a close scrutiny, the argument has to establish some pieces of evidence to make the statement more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in this argument that the author claims that Clearview has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. However, this contention of the description is very weak and obscure and is open to a number of interpretations. For example, if the static climate means that this place is desert, it is definitely stable, but do many people like to live in a desert? I do not think so. Everyone has different images when he or she hears such of description. We would never know which climate is true of Clearview. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely explanation, by no means could the author contend that the weather is good so that Clearview is the top place to choose.

Moreover, even though the writer might be able to provide enough information for us to deduce a solution to the problem presented above afterwards, the argument still maintains ill-conceived. Another problem could be that the writer states that the housing costs in Clearview has fallen, and taxes remain low. But the writer does not mention what the exact price is. Although housing costs are falling and taxes are low, they are totally possible that the money which needs to spend on it is still high and general people cannot afford it. To corroborate this point, the author should pay a close heed t as well as cope with the representative possibilities mentioned above. Only the evidence of real number is the key to bolstering his recommendation.

Ultimately, even if the foregoing assumptions might turn out to be supported by ensuring evidence, a crucial problem remains that the article points out retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health because of the increase of physicians, but this statement does not make sense since the increasing physicians are not equal the health care system in Clearview will become better. In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon the author's presumption which I reject as inadequate, in that the numbers of physicians cannot represent the entire care system. In contrast, the article must list much more detail information on health care fields such as the fund in health care in Clearview, the numbers of hospitals, and the rate of the dead.

In retrospect, it seems precipitous for the author to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic premises. To dismiss the specter of the implausibility of his recommendation, the author ought to come to grips with all existing flaws and offer more specific evidence to make the argument more convincing.