The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. “Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that to attract viewers and avoid losing any further advertising, the television station should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all new programs. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after close scrutiny, the argument has some assumptions which need to support to make the statement more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in this argument that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with weather and local news when the station decreases time to them. However, his contention is open to a number of assumptions. For example, Does all complaints are all complaining about the decrease of the weather and local news programs? Perhaps, they are arguing that those two programs are still too long, or the qualities are much worse than before, but not because of the decrease. Besides, How many complaints do the station receive? If they just get some complaints, I believe it is very normal, which means every program always has some people who do not like it. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely assumptions, by no means could the author contend that the reduction of the time of the weather and local news is definitely hurting the television station.

In addition, even though the writer may be able to provide us with enough information to infer a solution to the above problem, this argument is still ill-conceived. Another problem is that the writer says that advertising is reducing because of the decision they made. It may be possible local businesses cut their contracts because the television situation, but it is entirely possible that they are not cutting the contracts due to the weather and local news programs. Maybe the whole viewers are dropping quickly in recent years, so the companies cancel the contracts. Moreover, the writer does not state any information about how many numbers of advertising cancel their programs. If there are only two or three, it is actually no big deal. In order to confirm his point of view, the writer should pay close heed to as well as address the representative probability mentioned above. Only real situations and the real numbers are the keys to bolstering his advice.

Ultimately, even if the previous assumptions might turn out to be supported by subsequently detained illustration, a crucial problem remains that the recommendation tries to convince the readers that the station should expand the weather and local news programs on all new programs to attract viewers. But this is meaningless since the article does not explain the relationship between these two programs and increasing viewers. In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon presumption which made by the author because presumption actually is inadequate in whether the weather and local news could really draw viewers. Maybe, abandoning all these two programs are just the audiences wanting. Pursuing this reasoning proves that the author has the responsibility to carefully consider his assumptions and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable argument.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the writer to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic premises. The argument turns out rather too many unsupported assumptions, most of them rooted in a rather narrow slice. As such, it cannot bear the weight of the assertion that the recommendation is a good idea.