A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The argument claims that a study conducted by Oceania University lead to result were faculty retention can be achieved if professors are offered with free tuition for their own college-aged children. This would help attracting more people towards this profession and also help to retain the existing professors. This statement doesn't provide complete information regarding the survey and making such decisions will have pros as well as cons on the University reputation. Hence, I would completely disagree with taking such decisions.

Firstly, providing free education for the college aged children of professors would be unfair to other students who are willing to join the University. Usually, Universities have limited seats available for a particular year. This is equivalent to making reservations based on caste which is followed by few universities in countries like India. Hence, this decision would limit the seats available for other students and hence will have adverse effects on Oceania Universities reputation. It will be completely unfair if a deserving candidate would not receive a seat in University just because it is offered to a student who is professors son.

Secondly, Their is no much of information provided on the study made. In order to support the decision this argument requires complete information of the study. For example, for how many years the study was made, was their a survey done to come up with this decision etc. It could be possible that the study was only specific to Oceania Universities. This decision might completely fail in other Universities. Hence, The study information should be a more verbose to understand the base of this decision. Seatown may not have same issues like Oceania university. Their could be many other reasons which would have caused issues in retention of professors.For example, Professors at Seatown may are not compatible with other professors in the University or they are not happy with their work or the quality of education providing. They might be disagreeing with the curriculum of University which is basically decided by highr management. Therefore, a proper survey should be made among professors in Seatown itself to understand the reason for their unhappiness instead of imposing the same scheme tried in some other university.

Also, Their are many alternatives to lure new professors or retain the existing professors. For example, university can provide free accommodation to professors which will definitely attract towards this profession. Instead of giving free tuition to their children university can increase professors monthly salary which would not harm the reputation of the university.

Hence, I would conclude by saying that, offering free tuition to college aged children of professors would have more cons then pros. In order to support the argument, author has to provide some strong proofs. The study made in Oceania University might not be helpful to Seatown. Hence, I would suggest to make a study separately in Seatown before taking any decision. Without all these information the statement is not convincing and decision is mare an assumption.