People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Glancing back through the history of various countries. one will undoubtedly notice that many remarkable changes have been sparkled by people questioning the rules and authorities. I agree to the point that making your point of view clearer and questioning the rules is most important to bring changes to the political and economical state of government. This applies to all the countries. The modern history is an best example to show the differences that people made by questioning the authorities. Hence, I definitely agree with the statement of question the rules and authorities rather accepting them passively unless it is taken to very extreme levels which can hinder the growth of country.

Take, for example , the formation of India. For years under the British rule citizens were unfairly taxed and treated in accordance with British rule. The 16th and 17th centuries were most horrifying for people while they suffered injustice due to foreign rule. This hindered the economy of the country as well. British looted India left and right for the 2 centuries and almost 10% of Indian revenue was transferred to England which had a huge adverse effect on economy of the under developed country like India. It took a while for people to understand that questioning the authorities for their individual rights and as well for betterment of the country is necessary to end injustice. Years later, when released from British rule, their original questioning of rules and authorities lead India to take different authoritative stand against the British rule. This brought an end to the sufferings of people and a new government to form the economy. This change was very crucial for a country like India were poverty lies in a very prominent place. But, if we talk about the modern history even the strong countries like America , France also suffered from British rule which lead to hardship and starvation for local people. Hence, questioning the authorities is not specific to the individual level but is also damn important at national level.

Some might claim that questioning the authorities might imply violent action in case of civil change, that one cannot exist without another. This is certainly not the case. Take, for example, Mahatma Gandhi who played a prominent role in obtaining the independence for India lead a non violent path to achieve it. Even though some people preferred to follow the violent path, his path of non violence inspired many people as well. The questioning of authorities, coupled with moral actions, lead the much tyranny and injustice throughout the world all through non-violent means.

This is not to say that I think that this statement is the best course of action in every situation for every person. Taking anything to extreme level has its own consequences.

In democratic countries like India, people choose their leaders to establish system of check and balance. Due to having a government which is to the people, for the people and of the people. In a system were every person questions every new rule, as the statement implies, political leaders must cater many different view points. These differences segregate population and hinder progress as well.

In essence, I agree with the point that questioning the authority, making your point clear to the upper authorities is not a problem and a very essential until a certain limit. It should not lead to certain extent that hinders the progress and brings differences between people. But I definitely, agree with the statement of question the rules and authorities rather accepting them passively unless it is taken to very extreme levels which can hinder the growth of people as a whole.