A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

The argument proposes that Monroe is a city of jazz music lovers. Hence, establishing a jazz club at Monroe will be very profitable. The owner supports is decisions with proposing the data collected recently. There are no jazz clubs upto 60 miles of the area around Monroe and at average jazz lovers spend at least a 1000 dollars every year on jazz music. In addition to that it is been observed that more than 100,000 people attended the jazz festival last summer and most people of Monroe are jazz lovers. After looking on to the various data it is very persuading to accept the decision. But, When we look in to the data very closely one can figure out that reasoning of the argument is logically flawed. It relies on assumption which appear unsupported due to lack of data.

Firstly, the owner proposes that there are no jazz clubs up to 60 miles around the city. This can be a positive sign but, it can also be interpreted as even though their are no jazz clubs near the city, why did other businesses did not think of establishing a jazz club. Also, it is possible that few others are also planning to open a jazz club in the same city which will deteriorate the profit scale assumed by the C Note owner. Hence, their is most investigation needed to support the assumption.

Secondly, As an evidence, owner states that more that 100,000 people attended the Monroe's jazz festival and hence the number of jazz lovers are large in number. If we look at the statement more closely one can conclude that owner fails to mention whether people attended the festival were all from Monroe itself or they also included people from other regions. If that is true than this statement gives negligible support to the decision. Hence, the survey information is completely vague until we have more data regarding exact people from Monroe attended the festival. Moreover, even if those many people from Monroe attended the festival, one cannot say that all of them are actually jazz lovers. It is also possible that people attended to just figure out what jazz music sounds like and may be some of them didn't like it. In such situations the statement becomes completely vague. It would have been helpful if their was a survey made during the festival to ask people their feedback. That data would have been helped to filter out people who actually liked jazz Music.

Thirdly, owner proposes his last point that in nation wide jazz fan spends close to 1000 dollars on jazz Music. But, how much percent does Monroe's people constitute out of these people is a valid question which owner doesn't mention. It is possible that only 10 percent of nation wide people are in Monroe who love jazz and wish to spend so much for jazz entertainment. This makes me realize that statement needs more backup and more accurate data.

Hence, to conclude, I would say that, Argument fails to recommendation acceptable. The assumptions need for relevant data to support themselves. Argument needs to be strengthened by more data and solid facts without any flaws. Otherwise, with the given data it is recommended to owner not to make the decision of opening C Note in Monroe.