In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument claims that the road accidents reported at Prunty Country last year were not lowered even after the speed was limited from 55 to 45 miles per hour. Due the fail of attempt Prunty country want to follow the same step as Butler Country to improvise the roads by increasing the lane width, resurfacing rough highways and improvising the visibility at dangerous interjections. This conclusion provided lies on mare assumptions and

do not provide in facts to support the decision. In order to support the decision the argument needs to provide some facts and gather some data on cause of road accidents.

First of all, their are no facts mentioned on average accidents happened before limiting the speed limit to 45 miles for hour and after the change. This data would be very crucial for this argument. There are lot many factors which might need to be taken into account.

For example, the road accidents might have increased only in rainy seasons. Such facts need to be taken into account before ruling out the various options available.

Secondly, the new strategy Prunty Country want to apply is improvising the road. The author inordre to support his claims presents the fact that it worked well for Butler Country. As Butler is totally different country we need to consider all the similarities and dissimilarities shared by the two. For example, Butler Country may have less population hence less accidents in there region. The arguments mentions that accidents in Butler country are reduced by 25% in 5 years of improvising the road. It is a undeniable fact that improvising the roads will benefit the Country, we also need to understand the consequences of doing it. Government might use the same money for many other important tasks.

Finally I would say that conclusion is made on mare assumptions and requires to collect data and facts on why did the attempt of reducing the speed failed. Then take the necessary actions towards the issue. Also, It is necessary to take in account differences between 2 countries before adapting the strategy followed by them. Improvising the roads is has it own advantages and will definitely help in reducing the accidents but

there might be various other economical ways to carry out the same task.