If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more

experience.

I partially agree with the statement that job is deserved by a person with more experience rather a fresher. It doesn't matter which filed we are in, experience should be one of the factor while judging a person for certain role. The statement itself is a bit vague hence I would like to cover as many point of views I can recollect regarding the statement.

To brainstorm my essay, I would like to share a experience I had while working in a corporate world. My team were hiring people last year and I was part of hiring team. There were lot many applicants equally distributed from freshers to 2 year experienced people.

After the first round of basic questions we ended up having 3 candidates, 2 people with 2 years experience each and one fresher. In the next round was a bit tougher as we had a asked them to design a application. My colleague who was taking their interview was very much impressed by the fresher who came up with innovative design for that application.Even thought much of it had less pragmatic, he was able to think out of the box

compared to other candidates. As we had an opening which required strong knowledge and experience, ended up choosing a 2 year experienced guy over the fresher. As the team were impressed by the inexperienced yet innovative candidate, they persuaded the higher management to hire the guy as a fresher also. Hence, I feel that experience is one of the requirements while interviews and we should always encourage new , avid and keen minds.

It is also true that in some non trivial cases were we are bond to choose a experienced person over a a inexperienced. For example, time bond projects or strict time schedules .In such cases we are allowed to choose a experienced mind rather a new person. Also, in case of having a lower budget were you cant afford a less experienced guy to have a position providing the same salary which you would have provided to a experienced candidate. In said cases, it seems acceptable to use experience as a dedicated criteria between otherwise identically equal candidates.

Ultimately, unbiased hiring tests appear to be the best option for deciding between otherwise identically equal candidates. Experience factors into candidates performance, but does not become the only deciding factor. However, extreme circumstances such as short time scale and limited financial resources, may limit the ability to perform unbiased hiring tests.