The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

A better nation is always defined by the well being of its citizens. A great nation is one where nobody dies because of hunger or where every child is given a equal rights to education irrespective of the statuses. We live in a world were countries are competing to become the greatest of all the other. The bases of this decision is based on various factors like economy, education, science and technology, innovations, sports etc. At the end of the day what matters or measures the most is well being of a individual in the country. Hence, I feel well being of a citizen defines the nations greatness over others.

In developing countries like India, we have many resources to provide well being of the society. But due to the huge population we lag and we are yet to improve. Even though we are equal to other countries in providing brilliant Scientist, Engineers, Doctors, we are still called a developing country. This proves that giving birth to great people is not the only thing which defines the greatness of the country. In India majority of wealth lies in 10% of the population and hence most of the common citizens do not get enough resources to develop themselves. This difference is the real cause for economic status of the country. Therefore, even though we have some great hero's in every possible field, we still lag behind due to issues like poverty,child labour.

Secondly, if we peek into countries like United States and United Kingdom or Arab Countries we find a lot of improved state of living compared to India, China etc. Though all of them have given a equal contribution in providing great rulers, scientists, Doctors and experts in various other fields, we still call United states as a developed country. That is due to the well being of the society.This clearly implies that economy plays a very important role in considering the greatness of the nation rather than just few brilliant people.

On the other hand great rulers, scientists , artists do bring fame to their nation which helps a country to get recognized by the whole world. It also plays a very important role in the growth of a country. A great ruler can change the future of the nation by his innovative plans and strategies. An invention from a scientist can help a nation to lead in the science and technologies which will also help to improvise the economy and welfare of the nation. But all this will be just a part of growth and real success lies in the satisfactory life of a ordinary citizen.

Therefore, I would like to conclude by saying that, well being of the citizens is the major cause which defines the greatness of the nation. The welfare, security, happiness and comfort of a ordinary person will lead to a great nation.