"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

This argument claims that we should restore the time devoted to whether and local news to its formal level because there is a decrease in number of viewers and also loss in advertising revenue. Stated in this way argument fails to mention several key factors on the bases of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on some evidences which are not very convincing. Therefore, the argument is very weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, argument conveys that over the past year there are lot of complaints from viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news. One can strongly argue that this statement is vague as it doesn't mention what was the exact complaint from viewers. The customers may also have complained about improvising the content shown in the national news and which cannot be given as a support to increase in coverage for weather and local news. Even though they might have stressed upon improvising the timings for broadcasting weather and local reports, It can be possible that we can satisfy their requirements by broadcasting it during different timings. Hence, This statement is a scratch and not sustainable any way. There are numerous different possibilities and solutions to the issue. For example, weather and local news can be exposed during other peak times. This would satisfy the customers and as well as there is no need to alter the timings of national news.

Secondly, the argument states that due to the altered timings, local businesses that used to advertise during the news have canceled their advertising contracts. This statement could have been much more clearer if it explicitly explained what was the reason behind taking back the contracts. One cannot deny that these advertising companies might have got a better deal with other channel and hence they would have canceled the contact. It could be argued that after the change in timings of the national news and weather reports the channel has reduced the gap provided for advertisements and as a result, they might have taken back the contract. Therefore, the argument is not acceptable and do not have proper evidence to support their statement.

Moreover, to prevent the advertising revenue they can approach to new dealers and try improvising their revenues. To attract more viewers they can improve the content of the news broadcast. Which will surely attract attenders no matter what time the news is shown. In addition, they can try adjusting the timings for weather with other shows and get some feedback from the viewers. And also they can analyse the pattern of people watching news and figure out the time during which most of the people prefer watching news and display it during those hours. This can attract more spectators.

In summary, to wind up, the argument is flawed and unconvincing. It could considerably strengthened if the author mentioned all the relevant facts rather than just displaying the solution without proper evidence.It is necessary to have full background knowledge of the issue and contributing factors of the issue.