Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

It is true that one should be aware of all the academic disciplines to have a wider vision on true education. One should not be restricted to study a particular field if he is interested in. But it is also true that forcing somebody to learn more than what they need is also not a relevant choice. Everyone should have their own rights to choose their field of study. Basically it is left to a student to choose if they are interested in studying a subject other than what they are interested in.

Every student or a individual has his own skills to develop. If we ask a person who is interested in machines to read biology, it would be completely unfair to him. A person should have whole freedom to choose the subjects he is interested to master in. Especially in universities, where a person develops his skills in a particular field should not be forced to choose other subjects. Because , it not only diverts their attention but also hinders their interest in their favorite subjects due to the stress and tensions. A student may not even qualify in any of the subjects if they are forced to study subjects which are not related to their interest.

Every student will have a basic knowledge of all the disciplines of academics through their primary education. That is well enough for them to choose a subject or a course which they are interested in and pursue the same in Universities. Hence, basic knowledge is already given to a student which is good enough for them to have a basic idea of all the different aspects of academics. One can choose to enhance their hobbies while studying in university for example , if a person is pursuing Computer Science as a main course in University and he is also a music lover then , University can encourage him to take part in events and also give him permission to attend music classes whenever required.

It cannot be fair to ask a person who is interested in biology to take Mathematics or English also as the part of their academic. This would reduce amount of attention towards biology as well. Hence, it should always be a students choice to select multiple subjects in university. The Universities should provide a provision to choose multiple subjects as a option.

To conclude, this is a very good debatable topic. Having a basic knowledge about all the disciplines of academics is important but forcing a student to get expertise in multiple subjects is not a appropriate choice as it hinders a persons ability to learn what he is interested in. Every student should be motivated enough to choose multiple subjects. But forcing to pursue multiple fields might have adverse effects on a students mind.