"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

A letter from firm providing investments predicts an increased demand for heating oil in northeastern states of United States where winters are typically cold. Therefore they advice their clients to invest in Consolidated industries which are meant for retail sale of home heating oil. The argument is further supported by providing evidence of last heating season which ended for 90 days and this pattern of whether will continue to show up for next few years. Even though the argument seems to persuading while were read it in a facile way. The in-depth analysis reveal several loop holes and flaws in the letter.

First of all, argument is fallacious by making a unjustified assumption that due to increase in cold weather, northeastern america need more heating oil for coming years. There is no evidence provided which supports this statement. The residents may shift to other form of heat generating techniques rather than using same old oil heating method. As the climate forecast predicts about increase in the cold weather for coming years, people may think of buying some automated devices which work on electricity to prevent themselves from cold weather. In addition to that, the recent population growth and increase in new homes built will not support the argument here because due to increase in population it may also possible to come up with more convincing ideas which are helpful and less painful compared to heating oils.

Secondly, Even if the heating oil method is the only way for northeastern people to fight cold, we cannot conclude that Consolidation Industries are the best suppliers. This statement in argument needs some more evidence regarding why Consolidation industries caters exclusively for north eastern states of US. It may be possible that these industries are supplying oil to other parts of the country. Their may be local industries in north eastern US where people are more fond of buying heating oil. In addition to that, the author must also consider whether cost of heating oil from consolidation industries is feasible for people to buy. It is also possible that oil developed by Consolidation industries is used by industries and factories as compared to homes. These factors are very essentially need to be considered before investing into Consolidation Industries.

Finally, I would suggest that couple of evidence provided by the statement are not sufficient to wind up the discussion. They need to investigate further on what are the requirements of northeastern regions, and take necessary actions with respect to it. The increase of investing in Consolidation Industries need more digging with respect cost, area of supply etc. Hence, I conclude that reference drown by arguer is fallacious at-least with additional evidence to support it.