"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The argument talks about board of directors of Monarch book center recommending for opening a cafe inside book house. They support there view with some facts and assumptions which are not that accurate according to me. They assume that removing children section could be a good choice to make space for cafe on certain analysis did national census. They also assume that having a coffee shop inside the book house is adapted by a new book house called Regal Books, they too have to try it to make more profit by attracting customers. I disagree with the directors approach of coming up with this decision. They could have done more research before jumping to this conclusion.

First of all, Monarch is a very old book house and also have a considerable good profit from past 20 years. They will be having some regular customers who always choose Monarch over other book stores. Hence it is strongly recommended to the store to have a survey on there proposal for a cafe because some customers may not like idea. Having a cafe might attract all kind of people, some may not be interested in reading books rather they are here to meet some friends or to have coffee. This may create a chaos in the store end up disturbing sane people involved in books. The Regal Book store might be seen having a lot of crowd but it is hard to say that people who enter the store are actually want to read books. As it is a new store it is recommended to wait for a while to know the results of having a cafe inside a book store rather than jumping to the conclusion depending on the success they achieved in early days.

Secondly, Board of directors decide to clean up the children section to make some empty space for building a cafe. They have some research done on national census this year which proposed about having probably there will be a decline in percentage of population under age ten. The census itself says it will probably become less popular not definitely unpopular. Some factors that may be taken into account are, the store might not do as much profit as it might done with the children book section intact than having a coffee shop. The Children section might attract lot of families who want to encourage there children to start reading books in early ages.Therefore, taking all this in to account I would say it is not a practical decision to discontinue something existing to try something new. Instead they can have a small coffee house beside or outside the store but near to the store where people can enjoy books with a sip of coffee.

Finally, I can also propose the other ways to gain more profit rather than having a coffee shop. As Monarch is a reputed and well established book store, they can have stores in different parts of the city which will help them gain profit by attracting customers. Moreover, people will regularly visit the place near to were their home.

Therefore, I would like to conclude saying that the decision of opening a cafe should be based on facts rather than assumptions. It is recommended to talk to customers before jumping to a conclusion. The proposed idea has its own pros and cons which might need to be thoroughly studied before taking any decision. Hence i would suggest to drop the idea of building a coffee house inside a book store unless they have strong evidence to support it.