According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument claims that cheating among college and university students can be reduced by introducing an honor code. This rule had decreased the cheating very drastically over years.However, stated in this way argument fails to mention all the key factors on which this statement could be evaluated. The conclusion is mere based on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.Therefore, the argument is very weak and has several flaws.

Firstly, the honor code makes students to agree not to cheat in academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they encounter such events in college. There is no evidence of the number of students accepted this code and agreed to actively participate in making it success. The statement could have been more satisfying if argument mentioned more about the reactions of students on the honor code. On the other hand, it is not cogent to think that the students who were actively involved in cheating would agree to the honor code in a kick.Furthermore, professors closely monitored students and reported thirty cases of cheating per year. One cannot deny that these numbers are seen every year and there is no signs of improvement. Hence, we cannot conclude that honor code system has worked.

Secondly, The author states that students are also complaining about the cheating. In first year of honor code in place, students encountered twenty one such cases of cheating and five years later the figure has dropped to fourteen. I can say that this statement has no legs to stand. Even though we can see a scale down in cheating reported in five years, one cannot assume that cheating has been lessened. Over the years , the students might have stopped reporting the cheats and hence numbers are less. The students may have fed up of reporting the same thing again and again.The statement could have been improved if there where some facts mentioned. For example, Universities or colleges should do a seceret research on the students and faculties and should find out if the number has really decreased or not.

The argument also claims that recent survey results displayed majority of Groveton students said they would be less likely yo cheat with honor code in place. The statement from students cannot be taken as a fact because they may lie in the survey. First of all students will never agree if they did any cheating and they will always try to hide it. In addition to that, author fails to provide details of the survey. For example what were the questions asked and how scaterred the survey was, How many students actually participated in survey. The response of some students cannot be taken as behalf of each and every student in college.

Finally, to conclude, the argument is flawed and therefore not convincing. There might be possibilities that honor code had worked for Groveton college but one cannot jump to a conclusion based on one college data. There should be proper research done on students, professors and the extent of cheating in other colleges and based on the results the action must be taken. The suggestions in this passage would have worked if there were some relevant facts mentioned to support the asumptions.