"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But

The author brings into perspective the recommendations of two different sections of people. One section of them considers that it is beneficial to add an extra lane and other section of people believe addition of bicycle line would reduce the traffic congestion. Although the discussion appears to be true, it does not provide any logical and statistical data.

The first recommendation involves people suggesting an addition of lane. However, the author did not provide any data on what is the major cause for the congestion of traffic. If the existing lane is not sufficient for the population, it would be fruitful to add a lane but without considering any other factors, the author cannot claim that addition of lane would reduce congestion. Moreover, the author should also have considered the time period of traffic congestion. Whether it occurs during peak periods of a day or it remains same all the time. In addition, he compared it with Green highway Which is fallacious. The conditions of green highway and blue high way may be different in terms of demographic conditions, population and road condition and the condition in green high way might be different from previous year till the next year.

The second assumption is addition of a bicycle lane which seems to be good but has many drawbacks when observed from the people’s side. The author made a point that residents of Blur highway are keen in bicycling, but did not provide data on how many people were surveyed and the people who were surveyed had their own vehicles for commuting. Additionally, the author did not give information on whether the residents were interested to bicycle for long distances or short distances. Because, it is difficult to do cycling for long distances and without people’s opinion, it would be a bad proposal.

To conclude, the author did not provide sufficient information on the number of people surveyed and the statistical data. So, the discussion seems to be fallacious and can be looked further by collecting information on the given points mentioned.