"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

The author concludes that to increase lane size because of the commuters complaints and traffic jams between Blue Highway and suburbs. moreover, last year's addition of a lane to the Green Highway was worsening of traffic jam on it. so, better alternative is to add bicycle lane to the Blue Highway because many residents are keen towards bicyclist and it is also encourage them to use bicycles to commute. all these will indirectly impact on rush of the traffic and help to reduce traffic. However, argument relies on certain assumptions which has no limpid evidences.

Firstly, the author conclude that commuters complain about the rush-hour traffic is because of shorter the size of a lane and hence traffic is increasing radically. This assumption holds no good point to conclude author's statement. The author should have been come up with the other alternatives beyond this wider the lane solution. The author should have strengthen the argument by giving more limpid evidences like the details of the complain, people's compain analysis, more statistical knowledge and data.

In addition, the author assumes that the proposal of motorist' lobby is a moot because last year by additing the lane in Green Highway was worsen the traffic. The author assumes the same results will be happen if the motorist proposal gets applied. This points hold no lucid evidences that strengthen the argumet. The author should have metion more points to bolster the statement to refute motorist's proposal.

Lastly, the author assumes that bicycles is the optimal solution to solve traffic and rush-hour problems. This also encourages the bicyclist. This assumpition is tootally irrelavent, there is no rigid proof of citizens of passion and the type of people. There might be only high class people lives in the Blue Highway. They might do not like to ride bicycle. The auther lacks credibility here. He could strengthen the argument by telling more clear data, traffic analysis, rush-hour detailed statistics.

In conclusion, the author have assumed that bicycle is the best solution to overcome the trafic conondrum. He should have given the more evidences and proofs to conclude his statment. The author could have strengthen the argument by discussing beyond bicycles idea and motorist proposal or addition the lane. before concluding that bicycles will reduce the traffic problem.