The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The new vice president strongly suggests that the Sartorian company should conutinue to produce the alpaca overcoat due to the cooperation with the new fabric supplier as well as some evidence given by the author, in this way, the company would gain more benefits from this product than they did before. While we should gain more convicing evidence to prove this possiblity in that there are some loopholes in this memo, we should reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the reason why they should continue the alpaca over coat prodcution is not well convincing merely by the new cooperation with the fabric supplier. Before the new product introduced into the market, there are some essential survey prove the feasibility of this sale of product. Especially in the clothing market, firstly, whether this alpaca overcoat would be accepted by the consumers is still in question. Appeared again five years later, there would be more choices even alternatives than this kind of coat. Secondly, whether the new fabric supplier offer the wool fabric to the Sartorian company only or there are other parteners is not clear, in that we do not know whehter the market would like this kind of fabric either, or in other word, would it be popular with the consumers is still in question. Maybe the new fabric company found there was no company except the Sartorian would buy their original meterials as this kind of fibric is outdated due to the fast-changing fashion in clothing. Thus the market survey is required immediately, also, we should get to know more details about the cooperation with the new fabric company.

In addtion, the reactions of the competitors are improtant for us to notice in that no other competitors proudce this kind of alpaca overcoat which should be reasearched carefully. As there is a possbility that the market would not like this kind of coat anymore, if any company still sells them, it would be a disaster for the clothing firm. Thus again we get back to the market survey to find out this special condition of the competitors. Besides, the fabric purveyor's parternship with other companies should be a key point to us to find the answer.

Finally, the evaluation of the alpaca coat sale in the future by the author is not well convincing. Although the selling of this coat was well five years ago, it is unpredictable that the selling would still be good even batter due to the lacking of the market survey, maybe the consumers do not like this kind of coat anymore. Likewise, it is early to set the price of the coat which is higher than before as the reaction of the market is still not clear.

In all, the assumpetion given by the vice president of the company is not compelling. To strenthen the statement, the author should make more market survey. Firstly, the author should figure out whether the coat would be popular again like it was five year ago. Secondly, the author should dig out why the competitors do not produce this coat.