The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

According to the manager of a television station, there have been many compaints regarding the weather and local news. The manager has mentioned that many businesses that used to advertise with the news program have cancelled their contract.The prompt suggests that burgeoning the time alloted to the local and weather news would also increase their revenue as he assumes it would bring in more viewers. However, before this conclusion can be properly assessed, the assumptions need to be meticulously analyzed and the implications need to be addressed by obtaining the answers to two questions.

Firstly, the business manager relates correlation and causation. He assumes that just because the late-night programs that have retracted their contracts during the deluge of complaints was due to the wanting of the time allocated to the weather and local news. However, there could be many other reasons for their cancellations. For instance, one of the late-night programs who cancelled their contracts may have done so because they might have found a more frugal deal elsewhere and decided that joining with the rival company may be more beneficial to them in terms of their profits. Therefore, before the business manager exhorts his recommendation, it needs to be averred that those specific programs retracted their contracts specifically due to the time given to the local and weather news.

Secondly, what were the complaints amde by viewers actually about? Was it regarding the time allocated to the local news and weather news or what it actually due to the quality of it? For instance, there could have been a myriad of complaints, with 70% of them revolving around the quality of the news given; they could be discontent about the inaccuracy of the weather predictions or the countenance of the local news reporter regarding certain issues. Even if the complaints are regarding the time, are the individuals contentious because of the lack of time granted to those two news programs or the excess of it? In this generation, one could look up the weather in seconds on their phone devices; the local news could be also be read from their local newspaper. It could also be that they do not care much for the local or weather news. It could be that they think the time allotted to the local news and weaher news is excessive and they would actually prefer more time for the national news. Thus, befor the supposition can hold merit, the details regarding the complaints need to be sought.

Finally, time also plays a major factor in such a proposal. Assuming that the complaints and the contract retractions are results of the lack of time allotted to the local and weather news, how does the business manager foresee that restoring the time devoted to these news to its former level will be as fruitful? How long ago was the former level upheld? If an ample amount of time has passed, then the environment, economy, society, and culture might have progressively changed since then. The importance of the local and weather news a decade ago might have been attenuated or it might have been increased. To determine if applying the former techniques would give the expected results, the manager needs to scrupously anaylze his surroundings and the economy for the current day.

In conclusion, the manager's recommendation is drastically blemished due to copious unjustified presumptionsl. Before the suggestion of raising the time devoted to the local and weather news is enforced, it is essential that the author provides adequate evidence, cogent reasoning to corroborate his claime, and sufficient answers to the stated questions. If the author makes progress and obtaines such remedies, then there is a possibility of further explication of his suggested proposal.