Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

It is said that major cities must be received financial support in order to progress as the cultural traditions are protected and created in them. I agree with neither claim nor reason in this argument.

The writer believes that only major cities should be supported financially because the cultural traditions originate from them. I disagree with this point of view. Most of the time we can see that rural areas or small cities in each country are the main sources of civilizations. For example, my country Iran has more than one hundred big cities that each one is divided into more than two hundred small cities which are the main place of historical buildings. Most of these cities need a budget to renovate themselves. Some small cities such as Hamedan which is in danger of natural disasters such as earthquakes. This city is one of the most important small cities in Iran as the most beautiful historical places are placed in. But unfortunately, we can see that more attention is about some big cities such as Tehran, just because it is the capital of Iran. Tehran is an industrial city and there is no cultural tradition in this city but most of the budget is spent on it. I believe that the bigness of the city does not mean that it is a source of the cultural traditions of a nation. When we refer to history and look at the lives of our ancestors, we can see that most of the civilizations originate from rural areas or small cities.

It is true that governments should give financial support to big cities but they should not overlook the small cities. They should have enough plans for the distribution of the budget between the cities. Also, for having the right distribution, governors must be controlled in order not to commit a crime such as embezzlement. Each country has some big cities and each big city has some small regions. For the renovation of all regions covered, the council of each city should be given enough budget. This budget should be allocated based on the needs and situations of each city. The bigness or the smallness of the cities should not be the priority.

To summarize, in my view, only big cities should not be sponsored just because they are mistakenly considered as a source of cultural traditions.