Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument assumes initiating an online degree programs is going to increase enrollment and solve the budget deficits but has not provided any clear evidence behind this logic, and hence is not cogent enough.

Online enrollment increases if the offline enrollment has enough reputation otherwise students usually do not get themselves enrolled in an unpopular program. For Omni University it may be the actual fact that their programs have earned nationwide reputation and hence attracted students from distant part of the country who are not able to attend in tradition classroom because of long distance. However, on the other hand, Humana University may be struggling on the fact that their programs are not so popular and their graduates are not in a good condition from the perspective of job employment, and this fact has resultants the failure of growth of student enrollment and in the near future it is even going to drop more rapidly let alone attracting students in online program. had the argument discussed in more details about quality of the running programs in Humana University and ensured that those particular two universities are quite similar in terms of offline program standards and their graduates are equally thriving only than we can conclude the increase in Omni university is due to online degree programs, otherwise not.

Secondly, the argument assumes online degree programs are going to decrease the budget deficits at Humana university. However, it may be true that Humana being a generous university compared to Omni used to charge students less money for the education they provide and many insolvent students study for free in Humana University, and hence the university is suffering now in terms of its budget. An increase in the educational charge only is going to solve the problem for them actually if it is the fact, not initiating an online program.

Meanwhile, it may also be true that Omni University is actually a newly constructed university and most of its buildings are recently constructed, and as a result, the maintaining cost of the buildings and dormitory are negligible compared to the Humana University which is a very old university and most of its buildings are hundreds years old. At the same time, if the two universities are of similar age, even then there is a possibility that Omni university has only online study programs only and virtually they do not have any classroom and few students needs to live in the student dormitory and this is acting behind their low cost of maintaining those buildings.

The argument is not cogent enough because of some unwarranted assumptions and before considering it as a cogent one some questions must be clearly answered.