Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Human being by birth wants to be fixed at its own belief and hence discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is useless.

Mankind has some innate properties which are common and thus are found in nearly every one of them. The core beliefs, regional belief-for example, are imparted into people in their early childhood and such beliefs are difficult and even impossible to change. When two person having contrasting view discuss over a controversial topic, most of the time the discuss turns into a debate and ends at the same point where the discussion was started. This same thing is applicable for political or economic beliefs a person. For example, in Bangladesh there are two political party-BNP and Awamileague. The followers of BNP have their belief on former president of Bangladesh Ziaur Rahman. They believe that he is the person who had declared war and venerate him for being the founder of BNP. However, the followers of Awamileague have other view in this respect. They think Zia was a spy working for Pakistanies and hence execrate him and his followers. At the same time, they urge the supporters of BNP by placing first hand evidence to change the belief that Zia made the declaration of the war. But, no matter how strong is the evidence, the followers of BNP never listen to the follower of Awamilieague. This topic is a very controversial topic for Bangladesh and discussion on this topic between contrasting views is useless if not mere wastage of time.

Similarly, People who believe that the earth is flat, no matter how hard evidence is paced in front of them, never accepts the idea that earth can be spherical. Usually people remain dogmatic in their idea and strong first hand evidence is not enough to change this view. This is the innate virtue of human being. So it is better for the believer of round earth not to try to influence the flat earth believer because it is hard and even impossible to proselytize them.

However, there may be some argument about the fact that the Prophet who came in this material world and become successful in the fact of proselytization. For example, before Prophet Mohammad has come in this world the people of Saudi Arabia believed in many God. But when Mohammad had become prophet he tried to change the belief of people of many gods and turned them into the follower of only one God, Allah. Mohammad was successful like the other Prophet before him but all of them were more than human and had supernatural power. But for mass people like us it is impossible to change the belief of others and hence there is no point in trying to proselytize other.

Discussing controversial topics with people having controversial topic is useless.