Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Formal education broadens our minds and spirits and for this fact, each and every people of a nation must be educated from formal institutions.

Napoleon once said ''give me an educated mother, I will give you an educated nation''. Education being the backbone of a nation, is essential for the development of a country. If majority of the people of a nation remains illiterate then it becomes hard for that nation to thrive in this competing era. However, the education people will receive should be properly designed having explicit outcomes. Without a properly designed formal education, it is not possible to gain the targeted outcome. For instance, in Bangladesh education system is designed in such a way that a child will get admitted in class one in its early childhood. That child will move on with time towards the end of its secondary school certificate examination after completing class ten and higher secondary certificate examination after completing class twelve. Upon completing the higher secondary certificate examination he will admit in any universities of his choice, of course if he wants to complete his higher studies. The study curriculum set from the very beginning up to the higher secondary in such a way that the child who will go through the process will have a broader outlook in mind and spirit compared to a child who has not gone through the process or completed only a portion of it and eventually dropped out. The education which is given in those twelve academic years contains basic knowledge of mathematics, science, sociology, religion, language et cetera and the knowledge of those subjects is a desideratum in the day to day life of a person.

Ensuring formal education for each and every people of the society can solve many problems which are otherwise not solve able. For instance, early child marriage was a common problem for Bangladesh. But in the past few decades the rate of child marriage has plummeted as the literacy rate has increased to a great amount. Government of Bangladesh has taken attempt to educate each and every person and for this, it has made formal education upto secondary level free for every child. Besides, government is providing free books and scholarships to enhance the rate of literacy because without ensuring formal education for the countryman every development attempt of the government will be thwarted.

However, it must be ensured the curriculum on which the education system depends is properly designed. If the curriculum is flawed then the total effort of the government will be hampered. A wrong curriculum will shrink the mind and spirit of a person in place of widening. So, the authority must be careful while designing study curriculum for the society.

A properly designed formal education will surely broad the mind and spirit of a person.