The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones quot In order to relieve Briggsville s notorious traffic congestion Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi million dollar subway system The subway will run through

The argument posits that in order to relieve Briggsville's notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison has decided to build a multi-million dollar subway system. It is expected that it will lead to an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsvile. The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and it is subjected to fallacy.

The argument wrongly assumes that making subway is the only possible way to combat the prevailed traffic congestion problem, that too without, knowing the cause of the traffic congestion over there. It might be the case that Briggsville is overly populated or population density is high which is a major cause of the traffic congestion. The argument needs to scrunitize the reasons behind prevailing traffic congestion issue over there.

It is also assumed that the subway will run through the major downtown areas where buses are the only form of transportation medium. Residents have been complaining about the inconsistent buses which will be still a issue after making of a bridge. The people over there also complain about the general lack of safety while riding buses. Nevertheless, we do not know whether the subway will be void of all these issues. We do not know about the security system of the subway. It is wrong to assume all these things about the subway system.

It has also been assumed that running the subway for twenty-four hours a day will mitigate the problem of the traffic congestion. But it might be the case that traffic is high during day and evening hours that are peak hours of work time. At night, usually traffic is less. Therefore, assuming that subway running all the time will solve the issue of traffic congestion is wrong.

It is true that the subway system will eliminate the problems suffered by public due to poor transportation bus system . But, the author has made unwarranted claims which requires substantial evidence to prove the same. The claim by Mayor Harrison Smith Jones that construction of the subsystem will boost the economy has not been substantiated by the proper evidence. The claim made is subjective and solely on the basis of mere words.

Without assessing this evidence, the validity of the argument cannot be established and the feasibility of installing a multi-million dollar subway system cannot be justified.