Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of 039 sidewalk rage 039 similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The result is an increase in assaults property damage

It is true that Middletown has put a ban on the use of cell phones while using on the road. After this, they heard no complaints, and cases of sidewalk incidents have gone down significantly. But if the same should be done by the council of Centerville is not true as this conclusion would be vague as lots of assumptions are there which invalidate the claim made and subjected to fallacy.

It might be the case the structure of the sidewalk of Middletown is not congested. The main cause of the sidewalk incidents is recklessness shown by pedestrians while talking on cell phones. They have been found engaged in texting, talking over cell phones, which results in walking into the road or bump into other walkers. These might be the reason for such sidewalk accidents. Therefore, they banned the cause of the accidents which helped in curbing the number of sidewalk accidents. But we do not know whether it is the same situation with respect to the city council of Centerville. The assumption that the structure of the sidewalk of Centerville is the same as that of Middletown and the root cause lies in the negligence of people due to too much indulged in phones while being on road invalidates the claim.

If the structure of the sidewalk is congested or extended due to which sidewalk accidents are occurring then banning cell phones would be futile.

The cause of the accidents has not been stated in the argument. The lack of proper scientific study to know the root cause of the accidents has not been made which invalidates the claim made. The increasing number of accidents may be due to the deteriorating law and order situation over there. Therefore, banning cellphones without knowing the root cause is not going to be worthy.

There is no statistical study done to enumerate the number of complaints. It might be the case that the people of Middletown have not got time to lodge the complaints. The study of the behavior of the people must be done to make a conclusion. There has not been stated any correlation between banning cell phones and number of the complaints by providing statistical data regarding the same.

Therefore, at the last, I conclude that taking the decision to curb any menace on the basis of what others have done to curb the same might not be fruitful. The proper study must be done to take any decision. The conclusion is full of unwarranted assumptions and needs to be verfied.