Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly.

while it may be true that, in order to address the sidewalk rage problem the Centerville city Council should ban cell phone use on sidewalks, this author's argument is not cogent enough. Primarily, the argument assumes what policy was successful in the case of other city will be similarly successful for the Centerville city but the argument has not provided any deep analysis over the two cities before making this conclusion.

The argument states that Middletown passed a ban to stop cell phone use on sidewalks. However, it may be true that the Middletown has the finest sidewalk structure in the state and have no shops on the sidewalks and it is the unrestrained cell phone use of the pedestrian which was responsible for all complaints of sidewalk rage. In order to address the fact the city council there banned cell phone use on sidewalks and no complains are reported consequently. So, Their ban was actually successful because the city council there properly analyzed the problem and found out the actual cause of the sidewalk rage and responded accordingly.

On the other hand, the city under consideration might have the worst sidewalk structure in the entire state and at the same time, shops might have been installed right on the sidewalk precluding free flow of pedestrian traffic, and thus responsible for the sidewalk rage problem. So, in order to address the problem the city council needs to reconstruct the sidewalk and remove all shops from the footpath to ensure free flow of pedestrian traffic. Had the argument stated in detail that the sidewalk condition of those two cities are mirror image of one another, only than we can conclude that the ban on cell phone use might be successful in Centerville city.

Even then, the argument needs to address the behavior of the city people of the two cities. It may happen that, Middletown's people, being educated, are docile and show their respect for any imposed law or ban upon them while the people of Centerville are rebellious and stubborn:show no respect to law. So, before concluding that the ban would be successful in Centerville it must be made clear that the city people are going to show their respect and keep themselves away from using cell phone while on the sidewalk.

At the same time, it might be true that the Middletown, being a busy city, the people are always in a hurry and their is no time for anyone of them to place complaint on trivial fact like sidewalk rage because they have some other major problems in hand. On the other hand, Centerville being a slow city, the people have enough time to make quarrel on the sidewalk and complain about the fact and at the same time they might be habitually complaining also. So, before concluding anything, we need to understand clearly about the behavior of the city people.

In conclusion, it can be said that the two cities might not be same and what was successful in one city might be found failed for the other one. So, in order to become a more persuasive one, this argument needs to address some of its unwarranted assumptions and answer some questions, otherwise the argument is not cogent enough.