A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is not cogent for its overdepence on a study result the details of which is not presented here.

The entire argument is contingent on a study on a monkey species. However, the argument has not placed any further details about the study: the health condition of the monkey, the geographical location of the monkey. It may be possible that the first born infant on which the study was conducted has a health concern: have defects in the level of some of the body hormones which lead it to the excess amount of production of hormone cortisol. At the same time, it is also possible the first born infant is healthy but its younger siblings are not which is because they produce less hormone compared to the older one. So, we can conclude anything from this study as we do not know whether those 18 monkeys represents the entire monkey species or it is just a tiny fraction of a vast monkey species. The geographical location may also act here, it is possible that the study is true for certain area but the monkeys in other regions do not show the same level of hormone discrepancy among the siblings, and hence the argument is not valid for them.

Moreover, the argument cast generalization on the stimulating situations. It says that all stimulating situations being same will produce the same result placed in this argument. However, it may not be true: there is a possibility that the only in case of encounter with a unfamiliar body the first born infant produces more hormone but in other stimulating conditions it does not do that. At the same time, the human example placed here is also suffering the same fate, the argument cast generalizations. If the argument explicitly said that all stimulating situations are same and thus will be covered by this study result.

Similarly, the argument placed an example of first time mother but it has not provided any further details whether the mother is in good condition or not.

The argument is flawed for some unwarranted generalizations it made while placing the argument.