Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

I agree with the statement that although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers. The following are the reason to account for the same.

It is true that when you are a leader of a team it becomes essential to judge the work performance of your peers for the efficient working of the team. Leader should have the capability to guide or give directions to their peers so that they should not proceed in wrong direction. But this moral judgment should be given maintaining the respect of their peers. It should not cross the dignity of their peers. They should not feel disgusted or insulted in front of others while enumerating their drawbacks or correcting them for the way they performed at their duty. Judging the peers in a way to insult them will only demotivate them and it will not motivate them to muse over their fault. Moral judment should be given by leader in a friendly way so that peers should feel that they are being guided by friend not by leader.

One should not feel complex when enumerating their team performance by leader. As it will bring bad impression to peer's mind. They will always have fear of being judged by their leader and being felt inferior in front of their colleagues or members of their team.