The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week. Write a response in terms of assumptions.

The given argument of the author that the teachers of the Sanlee were reported to give more homework per week as compared to teachers of Marlee state who were reported to give less homework and thus, resulted in poor performance of the students of Sanlee state in academics. However, students of Marlee state have performed better and have not repeated a year is based on the assumptions and does not give answers to some of the questions and therefore, is invalid and inconsistent.

The mere assumption that students of Marlee state have got good grades as compared to students of the state Sanlee as teachers of Marlee have been reported to give less homework is unfair. It might be the case that teaching methodology adopted by teachers of Marlee states is more effective as compared to teaching methodology adopted by teachers of Sanlee state which has led to better grades and fewer students who have been found to repeat a year. Moreover, the author of the argument has not specified the number of questions given per homework. Therefore, It would be unfair to compare the quantity of homework of the two states and thereby, the academic performance of the students of two states.

The mere assumption that the consequences of the present statistics are not in co-relation with the past before adopting the policy of giving less homework or more homework is unfair.

The consequences of the present statistics of the two states have not been compared with the past. The author has not specified what was the academic status of the students of two states before adopting the present policy of giving more homework per week or less homework per week. Therefore, it would be unfair to compare the performance of the students of two states based on the present statistics.

The mere assumption that 86 percent of the teachers of Santee has been reported to give more homework per week which has led to bad grades of students is unfair. The economic condition of the two states has not been taken into account for providing teachers at school. There can be a low teacher-student ratio which might have overburdened teachers and they might not have got time to ensure full attention to every student which resulted in low grades of students of Sanlee state.

The assumption that the quantity of homework results in better grades of students is unfair. The academic performance of the student does not depend on the amount of the homework assigned to them. It depends on many factors. It depends on the amount of effort put by the individual. It is also dependent on the keen interest of students in studies. The academic environment also plays a key role. The quantity of homework given has no correlation with respect to the academic performance of students.

One or more questions in the argument are based on mere assumptions. Therefore I reject argument of the author that teachers should give less homework to students.