The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum quot Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our s

It is true that today's world is of technology. It has revolutionized the world in every field. Learning technology helps us to move with the pace of the world. But, the argument/recommendation is unconvincing since there are many important questions that the argument fails to consider. These questions need to be answered before we can assay the merit of this recommendation/argument.

The first and foremost question that needs to be answered that the argument has not taken into consideration the interest of students and the level of the students. Some students who belong to humanities would like to make their career in that field, making programming compulsory for them, would be to no avail. Programming requires aptitude and problem-solving skills. All the students would not have these qualities, they might be afraid of problem-solving skills and decision-making. Therefore, making programming compulsory for all of them would be futile.

The second most question that the argument needs to answer is that it makes an assumption that all students would be keen to learn to program. The statement should consider the interest of the students before taking the decision of inclusion of programming into the curriculum.

The Curriculum should be flexible so that students can opt for what they keen to learn and study.

The statement has not given any statistical data to establish the fact that after learning to program how many students have got high-paying jobs after learning to program. Students should learn to program as it gives a high package, no figure has been given to demonstrate the same. After learning to program, people are living fulfilling life no evidence has been stated to prove the same. Earning too much money does not ensure fulfilling lives. It might be the case that the person is deprived of many things like happiness which are required to lead a fulfilling life that too after earning much money. There is no correlation between the high- paying jobs and fulfilling life.

The assumption that even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, is an absurd statement. If someone wants to make a career in journalism or the medical field, then learning programming would be of no advantage to them. It would be good for them to devote much time to learn more about their field and gain expertise in that stream only. Students who belong to engineering backgrounds would get benefit if they learn to program. The argument lacks assumptions about a stream of the students like to pursue or belong to.