Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and

Every human has a past. As we progress in our life, we learn from our past experiences to handle the new circumstances in present. World history is one of the example of this scenario.Sometimes, past study is essential to make a mark in prsent. Thus, I strongly disagree with this prompt.

We all study history as it gives us exposure and intimate us of the difficulties faced by our ancestors in handling the various situations in the past. We come to know that what mistakes by them led to the demolition of their entire kingdom. Learning from past mistakes helps us not to repeat them in future. Therefore, it becomes essential to study the past rather than to overlook the same. To illustrate, When new born baby learns to crawl, he gets repeated failures. But slowly after learning from mistakes, he rises again and tries to move on his/her foot.

The same is true in science and technology. When a researcher tries to pick a particular topic for research, he has to go through the previous published research article to find the shortcomings included in the current area of research. It gives him/her to know if there is any scope left to innovate something new in that arena. Research analysis of the survey article of the same topic acquaintes him/her with challenges present in the work and current progress made. Therfore, in this situation understanding the past is of use to those in current positions of leadership.

The same is true in political arena. The new leaders mimic the path shown to them by earlier leaders in the same stream. It guides them to face the new challenges of politics. Reading biography of the previous leaders helps the newphytes in guiding of the hurdles faced by them and how they overcome the same.

Similarly any new theory in science is alwaysinvented or devised on basis of the existing theories. We should be aware of the existing theories to invent a new one. Literature analysis helps us in the same. As it depends onthe natue field of study/work that future study/work depends upon the past analysis or not. It would be wrong to utter that understanding past is futile in current arena or field. I strongly reject the author's view. Therefore, I strongly reject this satatement.