Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be

As communication is essential for sharing thought's process in society. It gives others exposure to understand how others think or percieve the world around him/her. It might result futile but not in all cases. I disagree with this view that discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful bacause very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

It might be the case that some people who are very conventional and stubborn about their beliefs when they are embraced with contrasting views while discussing controversial topics. They do not accept other's logical views and are reluctant to accept other's views deliberately. This is very subjective term as it again depends upon from person to person. But some people may also accept the contrasting views if bolstered by logical evidence and presented with logical views. The contrasting views may compel the person to think in the same way you are thinking. Since it is not generalized, i refute the author's prompt.

Personality and behaviour of person varies greatly. Person's behaviour and way of thinking is very versatile. The thing which is right for you may be wrong in other's point of view. The way we perceive the world is different the way other's perceive. Each person is unique in itself. For example child marriage might be wrong for some one but it might be right for some one. When someone enumerates the cons of it in front of someone who thinks it right by presenting contrasting views with logical evidence. It might result futile if someone is adamant and conventional and one is not able to look the other side of coin. This is the case when one can not do anything. You can not compel anyone to change one's thought and thinking process. But if the same thing is presented with facts and logical evidence ithat too in a comprehensible manner then it might compel to change other's perspective or core beliefs.

As the above mentioned prompt is not generalized and varies from thinking process of one person to other which is variable in nature. I strongly disagree with this statement.