Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a contreversial issue of wheather understanding of the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership or not. Indisputably, past provides various knowlegeable insights which might help in effective functioning of today. Nevertheless, change is a continuous process and no organization can escape this phenomenan which results in past knowledge of little use. Thus, I generally disagee with the opinion that understanding the past is of great usage for leaders and would argue that knowledge of earlier events renders very less importance in leadership role.

First of all, as mentioned earlier- change is a continuous processs. No company's past is same as its present in all aspect. I would like to point out that the people working in the organization keep changing and so does the projects, mode of work and many other aspects. To illustrate , an example from my personal life will be compelling example for this. When I joined my work organisation, there were only 4 people and all of us used to work on on-site projects which involved everday travels. With time, the nature of our projetcs changes and the organization started working more on big data, from their cubicals without any need to go on-site. Moreover, the strength of the team increase to 20 people. In this circumstance, knowledge of past projects, methods, team schema would not have helped me in leading the team. But the adaption to new methods did help. Consequently, it made me realise knowledge of past is not of much importance.

Furthermore, keeping focus on the past can impede leaders to be abreast of the current trend and new updates required for an organization. For instance,in continuation of my provious example, if my leader had focused on the on-site projects only and would not have given much importance to the new big data projects. Surely, the company would have faced a huge loss as the the big data was the next trending thing. Indulging the organization with technical projects was right decision and helped the organization to flourish. Therefore, both commom sense and personal experience of minehave helped me in establishing that knowledge of past is of minimal inportance for leadership.

Admittedly, understanding of past can be helpful in some aspects too. This is true especially when it comes to the company's policy which do not change frequently should be carefully understood. However, the above agrument is quite limited to support the claim in general terms.

In conclusion, although there can be a few instances when past's knowledge is useful. But in the larger picture, leaders should focus on present and not in past for effective functioning.