Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

I disagree with the statement that although sound moral judgement is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Moral judgment of peer is essential for attaining the team's goal for which it was made. If the peer's performance would not be judged, it will be detrimental for group's success. Sound moral judgment is a essential characteristic a leader should possess whether it is about a peer's performance or a decision to be taken in favour of a team. Leader should ensure that everyone in team should work on ethical basis and should work in accordance with the rules made up by the leader. Leader should not discount moral judgment in order to maintain respect of his peers as it will not conducive in attaining the company's goal.

Leader should guide and correct their peers if they are going wrong in some direction. If a Leader would avoid doing so, peers will be reckless and they will do whatever they consider right which could salvage the purpose for which a group was formed. A Leader would be respected more if he would be morally sound and unbiased in taking decisions.

A leader is a great decision maker. He knows what is right or wrong for the team. He always keeps track of the actions or behaviour of his peers. If he finds something deviant he should notify that thing to that peer irrespective of the fact that peer would not now respect him. If a company is in bankrupt situation or lack in funding he should fire some of the surplus empolyees without caring what they would think of him or her. An improptu decision which is ethically correct for an organization is responsibility of the leader.

Therefore, I disagree with the statement that leader's ability to maintain respect of his or her peer is more important as comparatively to an efficient wisdom decision by a leader.