Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is no concise definition of a good leader as the position is one that is explained subject to the leader's role and his environment. However, there are characteristics that all good leaders must share. A leader should be consencious and insightful and retain the respect of his followers in order to effect change. Both charctersictsics which are mentioned by the author are very significant. Nevertheless, I believe that it is more important to be morally sound and insighful than to maintain the respect of your peers.

Directing a group of people, especially a large one requires athat you make hard choices on a daily basis. More often than not, a leader is stuck in a quagmire and required to choose between the devil and the deep blue sea, a position that he is seldom envied of. When such decisions are made, this leader has no other choice but to hurt at least a few people for the greater good. Imagine if a mayor has to is asked to take down the community centre that offers help to the people in order to build a big mall to increase the revenue of the state. A lot of people will be affected. some will resort to abuse in order to express their displeasure. he might even lose respect among hios colleagues for not choosing money over the good of the people. Such a decision would require a sagacious leader who can weigh the pros and cons and arrive at a good decision. This decision is made, the likelihood that the leader will maintain the respect of all his people is very low. The ultimate goal is to serve the people and do what is best for them. Having the respect of his colleagues may not be as useful of having the foresight to make good decisions. He might be looked down on by his peers. He might even lose his membership at a golf club, but at least he would have done right by his people and his conscience.

Another example is a manager who has to make budget cuts for a company in order to keep up with the market. He might be caught between firing some of his employees and increasing the revenue of his company in order to catch up with his peers and competitors. He will obviously not be happy with either decision, but this is one which must be taken by a sound leader at the expense of the respect of his employees.

Although the author has mentioned two noteworthy characteristics, I strongly believe that a sound moral judgement is more important than respect of his peers.