The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Producing altruistic and all-round graduates is a one of the very key objectives of a university. The Dean's proactive move to make this a reality in his university is commendable. However, he utimately assumes that the community service which every student will be mandated to partake in will make everyone charitable and properly exposed and gain working experience. Unfortunately, this is based on many assumptions that must be rectified before it is passed into law.

One of the major assumptions in this newsletter is that the students will automatically be converted to 'good people' after serving the community and would have given back to the society. It is true that there have been stories about people who felt the need to continue charity after having some experience in school. This is not always the case. Making the community service compulsory might cause it to lose its essence. People will begin to view it as a chore and will only want to 'get it out of the way'. Over time, they will start to search for loopholes to escape the service and simply resort to truancy. If this is how the community service is viewed, the argument will not stand.

Also important is the assumption that the students will gain experience which will help them in their work in the future. The university is filled with wpople who have different dreams and aspirations and will eventually end up in jobs that are discordant. The work experience needed by a doctor is different from the one which a fashion designer will require. A doctor might benefit from community service, because he is required to show compassion and empathy, but a fashion designer only has to know how to draw amazing designs and make them come alive. Hence the community service will not be beneficial to the fashion designer. The assumption here will only serve for a certain group people like health workers, but it is almost useless to people who will end up with desk jobs or even have to work from home.

Another assumption is that the local charities need hands to continue their efforts. So many people are willing to offer their time to charities without being obligated to do so. The charities may already have enough people that are volunteering their time. What if they need money instead? What is they need books for the children or medication for those in the hospital? How will these students be helpful to them? if truly, they need help, then the argument can stand. However, if this is not the case, then it may destroy the argument.

It is clear that the Dean meant well by proposing this new addition to the schedule. Nevertheless, The asumptions must be confirmed before this is effected in order to ensure that the community service is beneficial to the students and the charities.