The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the above prompt assumes that if the city takes over a diminishing residential area to an industrial area, crime rates will decline and property tax revenues will increase in the area. The author came to this conclusion based on a similar successful urban renewal program that was also done in Transopolis on another side of the city. Unfortunately, this author makes some postulations which must be addressed before one can decide if the recommendation will help the city grow.

First off, the author assumes that the location of the declining residential area and the other area which has been taken over by factories are comparable. There are various standards upon which theses two can be compared. For instance, is this new area conducive for factories to thrive? Does it have all the requirement for the future employers and workers such as constant power supply, security, parks and other leisure areas? The existence of these prerequisites will further strengthen the author’s argument. However, if they are not available, investors and manufacturers may not be interested in building in such areas. Another important factor to consider is the accessibility of the area. The other side of Transpolis where a similar project was successfully carried out was near a freeway and hence was accessible to the consumers. If the manufacturers will be unable to move their goods to wholesalers and other clients due to poor accessibility, then it is unlikely that they will build in such an area. This unfortunately weakens the proposition of the author.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the people that will be displaced from the deteriorating area will be willing to move to the nearby neighbourhoods that are unoccupied. The author does not take into cognizance that there may be reasons for which that neighborhood is not fully occupied. The area may have high crime rates. It is possible that the robberies and gang fights in that area occur constantly. Families may have moved away from this area to more secure areas in the city. This means that those that will be displaced by the development project may be unwilling to move to this area and hence may be forced to remain homeless. The new area may also be characterized by flooding or bad roads which automatically makes it a poor choice for relocating the displaced people. These factors, if present, will do more harm than good to the economy of the city and hence, will not strengthen the argument of the author.

The author’s argument, although intended to bring economic development to the city is flawed in various ways. There is need for more research and evidence to support the recommendation before it can be carried out. If the evidence proves that two areas are truly comparable and that the part of the city where the displaced inhabitants will be moved to is truly secure and habitable, then it will support the author’s argument.