The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones."In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the

In this argument, the Mayor of Briggsville asserts that a downtown subway will help to accelerate the workers' productivity that will directly improve the economy of the town. To support this, he has also given certain evidences and assumptions that found less convincing as a reader.

Firstly, the author given that there is notorious traffic congestion, but he didn't specified the factors like route on which the traffic congestion occur as well as time and day at which the jam is undoubtedly appear. There might be the possibility that the traffic is more only during the peak hours of the working days but not on weekend. Furthermore, there could be a particular road ways on which the congestion is occurring frequently and instead of building a multi-million dollar subway system, a flyover could help in resolving the problem. Also, constructing a flyover is definitely more thrifty that constructing a subway and the money saved can be utilized to address the other economical issues of the town which is one of the concern of the mayor.

The author should address the issue on a rudimentary basis to find the root cause and ultimately assist in finding the solution. In this, the Major put a light on the public transportation facility provided in the town and the public complaints regarding to this facility. It is clearing mentioned that the buses are inconsistent and the people find it to be life threatening while traveling into such a conveyance. However this problem needs more clarification in order to reach a conclusion. For instance, the factor on which the buses found to be inconsistent like frequency of the buses, capacity and condition of the buses is not mentioned. If this information is provided then it will help to work on the existing facility provided which will be less time consuming rather than working on a new one from the scratch.

Finally the author made an assumption which may not be relevant to the issue. He said that the creation of subway will improve the workers' productivity and also improve the economy of the town. Productivity of the worker is dependent various points like salary, working hours, appreciation, work load in which traffic congestion place a minor role.

Furthermore, considering the economy of a place can be based on many means like agriculture, tourism, industrialization, but as this information is missing in the claim, we cannot directly relate the economy to the traffic jam issue. For example, if the major part of the economic contribution is from agriculture then the people might stay into their farm for their lively hood and would not in a need of any major public transportation facility requirement. Also, the Mayor a showing the willingness to build a multi- million dollar subway system which projects that the economy of the town is stable.

With all these uncertainty in the given statement, the argument proved inadequate in convincing the points mentioned and the author need to focus more on exploring the depth the issue from various perspective before reaching to a conclusion.