The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacter

The director of a large group of hospitals claimed the requirement of UltraClean hand wash by concerning the health of the patients. This argument may seems convincing at first glance but it contains pit-holes that prove it unconvincing.

Firstly, the author posits the argument by giving the laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soap containing a concentrated solution of UltraClean and its result in reducing 40 percentile of the bacteria population. He used this study to assert the use of UltraClean hand wash in place of liquid hand soap already used in hospital. However, more detailed data, if provided could have strongly buttress this point. For example, factors such as purpose of the study, number of bacteria population taken into consideration as the data is given in percentage, kind of bacteria killed by UltraClean, kind and amount of liquid hand soap taken into consideration while taking the statistics and so on. All this information is need make the argument persuasive.

While testing the UltraClean in the laboratory, the UltraClean was used in concentrated form. There might be possibility that UltraClean is already present in the existing hand soap but that could be diluted to increase the quantity of the liquid thus inadvertently reducing the effect of soap. Hence, the ratio information of the ingredients used in the existing hand soap to the studied one is needed to bolster the purpose of the study.

In addition, the author has also provided a subsequent test of UltraClean at the hospital in Workby and its result of significant decrease of the cases of patient infection. While stating this allegation, the author failed to mentioned about the sanity of Workby hospital. Apart from proper hand wash, hospital cleanliness should also be the cause for patients prone to infection. Also, the cause of the infection that the patients infected by is not clearly stated. The patients can be infected by bacteria (as per the argument), viruses or even fungus. Another reason in the fall of the patient's infection could be because of better immunity developed in patients during the dosage of medicines. Thus providing a remedy without investigating the cause of the infection could prove ambiguous.

Initially, when the author mentioned about the patient's being infected due to ineffective hand soap, the question arises that why not the staff of the hospital have the same suffrage? Is there any difference in the hand soap used by the staff and by the patient? these questions need to be answered to drive a conclusion.

Furthermore, The data of patient is collected only from the hospitals of the same group but the information about the geographic regions of the hospitals is not provided. This detail, if supplied, could provided weightage to either side of the argument. For instance, the infection could be endemic to a specific region where other hospitals belong and as a result the count of the patient is more those hospital as compared to the one in Workby where the hand soap is used.

In conclusion, the author needed to do more detailed analysis before drawing a conclusion. He should considers all the factors such as proportion of UltraClean used in the existing hand wash, cause of the infection, region of the hospitals prone to infection and so on, to persuasively suggest his proposal.