As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

The statement linking technology negatively with free thinking plays on recent human

experience over the past century. Surely there has been no time in history where the

lived lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical

day reveals how technology has revolutionized the world. Most people commute to

work in an automobile that runs on an internal combustion engine. During the

workday, chances are high that the employee will interact with a computer that

processes information on silicon bridges that are .09 microns wide. Upon leaving

home, family members will be reached through wireless networks that utilize satellites

orbiting the earth. Each of these common occurences would have been inconceivable

at the turn of the 19th century.

The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the

ability for humans to think for themselves. The assumption is that an increased reliance

on technology negates the need for people to think creatively to solve previous

quandaries. Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without a car,

computer, or mobile phone, the hypothetical worker would need to find alternate

methods of transport, information processing, and communication. Technology short

circuits this thinking by making the problems obsolete.

However, this reliance on technology does not necessarily preclude the creativity

that marks the human species. The prior examples reveal that technology allows for

convenience. The car, computer, and phone all release additional time for people to

live more efficiently. This efficiency does not preclude the need for humans to think for

themselves. In fact, technology frees humanity to not only tackle new problems, but

may itself create new issues that did not exist without technology. For example, the

proliferation of automobiles has introduced a need for fuel conservation on a global

scale. With increasing energy demands from emerging markets, global warming

becomes a concern inconceivable to the horse-and-buggy generation. Likewise

dependence on oil has created nation-states that are not dependent on taxation,

allowing ruling parties to oppress minority groups such as women. Solutions to these

complex problems require the unfettered imaginations of maverick scientists and

politicians.

In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human

imagination. Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the internet has

allowed for an unprecedented exchange of ideas. WebMD, a popular internet portal for

medical information, permits patients to self research symptoms for a more informed

doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways of thinking that were previously closed off

to the medical layman. With increased interdisciplinary interactions, inspiration can

arrive from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the architects of the UN

Millenium Development Goals, based his ideas on emergency care triage techniques.

The unlikely marriage of economics and medicine has healed tense, hyperinflation

environments from South America to Eastern Europe.

This last example provides the most hope in how technology actually provides hope

to the future of humanity. By increasing our reliance on technology, impossible goals

can now be achieved. Consider how the late 20th century witnessed the complete

elimination of smallpox. This disease had ravaged the human race since prehistorical

days, and yet with the technology of vaccines, free thinking humans dared to imagine a

world free of smallpox. Using technology, battle plans were drawn out, and smallpox

was systematically targeted and eradicated.

Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the

implementation of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race, there will be

no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no

need to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a hopeful

posture to the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human

imagination.