Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

If science and technology will be able to solve all of society's problem is a complicated and controversial problem. Some people believe that science and technology are limited, and thus can not solve all of society's problems, while others argue the contrary. I'd like to argue that it is true that science and technology have the potential to give us the power to deal with most of society's problems, but not all problems can be solved.

History has shown that science is capable of changing our society and tackling society's problems and thus making human life much better. One illustrative example can be found in the field of medicine. Over the past few centuries, with the technological advancement of medicine, the number of people who dies of some diseases which were thought incurable in the past has drastically decreased, and the lifespan of humans has improved, and we have been even successful in eradicating some particular diseases. Much the same example can be found in the field of computer science. The invention of computers and the internet has brought a revolutionary change in our life and society. With the help of those technologies, it is now possible to communicate with people in far distant places in an instant, which in the past took a long time. As the aforementioned examples indicate that science and technology do solve society's problems.

However not all scientific and technological advancement is always beneficial, we know some cases that science and technology turned out to be detrimental to human beings, although it was designed at first to tackle society's problem. Technology related to weapons and wars like dynamites is a familiar example. Dynamites at first was not designed to harm people in wars, rather it was invented to make mining more efficient. However, in the end, dynamites were often used in wars to kill enemies. Thus it is crucial for us to consider whether the new technology is easily abused and used in a harmful way, and discreet in accepting new technology, or technology, which at first seems favorable, would become inimical to us.

In other cases, science and technology can cause another problem, when it first seems to solve society's problem. Environmental problem is the most demonstrative example. True, recent technological advancement has made our life easier and solved several problems, but at the same time, it cost us much, by damaging the environment and causing global warming. Therefore, one lesson we can learn from this example is that we should take both upsides and downsides into consideration before accepting new technology to solve society's problems. Since it is frequent that science and technology come at a cost, exerting a bad influence on another thing

In conclusion, to recapitulate my ideas, I'd like to point out again that science and technology can solve our society's problem, but not all society's problems can be dealt with. Sometimes, they have the opposite effect and at other times they cause other society's problems. Thus it is vital for us to have a diversified point of view against science and technology.