Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

I strongly disagree with the idea that discussing controversial topics with people who have contrasting views is useless because there is little chance that they change their minds and they probably stick to their core beliefs, and I'd like to advocate the value of exchanging ideas with those with contrasting views.

Firstly, the chief reason why I believe discussing controversial topics with people with different views is crucial is if we give up to do so, then we are very unlikely to foster mutual understanding with them. History has seen many examples in which people give up communicating and discussing controversial issues with their opponents, causing a lack of mutual understandings, and finally resulting in a catastrophic end, namely, the wars. Some of wars in history could have been avoided if they have put more importance on the discussion before using military forces.

Secondly, giving up on exchanging ideas with people with different ideas also means we have less exposure to various ideas. True, it may not be possible to change other people's minds if they have a deep-rooted belief or they are very obstinate, but it also gives ourselves an opportunity to absorb from manifold opinions, which helps us to shape a different point of view. One should not be parochial so that he or she is deaf to other's opinion, in order for us to avoid becoming narrow-minded, it is important for us to try to discuss over topics for our own good.

Thirdly, even when it seems impossible to completely persuade someone with different views by debating with others, it is still possible for us and opponents to find a point of compromise. When people have different opinions and opposed to each other, it is eventually necessary for them to find a point that they can compromise. That is to say, no matter how people are blind in their belief and obdurate, they will have to reach a compromise, and for two conflicting groups of people to agree on a point, discussions between those people over controversial issues should be made.

To recapitulate my opinion, I'd like to point out again that for the aforementioned reasons discussing with others even they don't share a similar point of view is crucial for us to foster mutual understandings, to develop a diversified point of view and to find a point that we can compromise.